Index

Free hit

An event sometimes seen in certain types of limited-overs matches, a free hit, sometimes called a free ball, is a playing condition; it is not part of the Laws. If a bowler delivers a No ball because his front foot has overstepped the popping crease, in a match where this condition is employed, he and his team will not just be penalised by the usual one-run penalty for bowling the No ball (plus the addition of any other runs that may have accrued from it). The next ball becomes a 'free hit' for the striker. Whatever happens, he cannot be dismissed Bowled, Caught, LBW, Stumped or Hit wicket - from this delivery. The umpire will give a signal to indicate the award of a Free hit.