Index

Bowled

Owner: B Aitken

A striker is out Bowled if a fair delivery puts his wicket down - providing it hasn't come into contact with any other player or umpire on the way. It doesn't matter if the delivery hits the striker's bat or any part of his pads or his body before it hits the wicket - if it breaks the wicket he is out Bowled.
When the ball does glance off the bat into the stumps spectators and commentators will sometimes say that the batsman played on. Some unqualified scorers have even been known to write played on in the 'how out' column in scorebooks. 'Played on' is a colloquialism; the dismissal should be recorded as Bowled.