Back

Playing a shot

Owner: Malcolm Barber

"A bowler who bowls off-spin was particularly pleased with an LBW decision. Tucking the bat behind the front pad, the striker played forward and intercepted the ball with his pad outside off stump. The umpire must have thought the delivery would have gone on to hit the wicket because he gave the batsman out LBW. In the bar after the match, the batsman was sure he should not have been given out, since he was 'playing a shot at the ball'."

The Laws don't mention this phrase 'playing a shot' anywhere - though media commentators always do!

The Laws ask whether the batsman was making "a genuine attempt to play the ball with his bat" Tucking the bat behind the pad is obviously not making a genuine attempt to play it.





Read more about Law 36 (Leg before wicket) at the MCC website