Back

Bowler breaks non-striker's wicket

Owner: A Newman

In a recent ECB Premier League match, the bowler broke the non-striker's wicket whilst delivering the ball. The umpire called and signaled "No ball" and the striker missed the ball which hit the stumps and went on to cross the boundary. Some of the spectators shouted that the ball was Dead and the umpire should signal accordingly, were they correct?

The spectators were wrong to suggest that the ball was dead. The delivery was correctly called as a No ball because the No Ball Law has been changed since the Stephen Finn incident against South Africa, it now reads - Law 24.6 Bowler breaking wicket in delivering ball
Either umpire shall call and signal No ball if, other than in an attempt to run out the non-striker under Law 42.15, the bowler breaks the wicket at any time after the ball comes into play and before he completes the stride after the delivery stride.


The umpire repeated the No ball signal to the scorers followed by the Bye signal and the Boundary 4 signal which meant that 5 No ball extras were recorded because the ball did not hit the Striker's bat before breaking the wicket - Law 24.14. Runs resulting from a No ball - how scored
The one run penalty shall be scored as a No ball extra. If other penalty runs have been awarded to either side these shall be scored as stated in Law 42.17 (Penalty runs). Any runs completed by the batsmen or any boundary allowance shall be credited to the striker if the ball has been struck by the bat; otherwise they shall also be scored as No ball extras.


The bowler was not happy!!!




Read more about Law 24 (No ball) at the MCC website