Back

Batsman pulls out stump


Sri Lankan batsman Asela Gunaratne pulled out one of the stumps after he thought he had hit the winning runs at the end of the third Twenty20 International between South Africa and Sri Lanka at Newlands. Sri Lanka needed five runs off three balls, but after hitting a four off the third last delivery of the game he removed a stump as a souvenir, only to be told the scores were actually level and his side still need one run

Umpires Shaun George and Bengali Gele put the stumps back and play continued, but Farhaan Behardien, South Africa’s captain, looked visibly annoyed and appeared to question the legality of Gunaratne’s act. Asked if Gunaratne “could be theoretically out”, former South African umpire Rudi Koertzen said George and Gele "made the correct decision and I would’ve done the same”.